Golden Apple award finalists revealed

14 September 2017 3:30PM

Today we reveal the finalists in the running to pick up prestigious awards for education, training and skills.

This week's arrival of a new academic year will spring a few nice surprises around the county as invitations for the Golden Apples Awards are received.

Finalists were selected by a judging panel last month and this week sees preparations for the awards gala event step up a gear.

All shortlisted finalists are being invited to the celebration taking place at The Cube at the University of Cumbria's Fusehill Street campus, Carlisle, on Friday, October 6.

West Lakes Academy in west Cumbria, newly selected as a national teaching school to help provide high-quality teacher training, is in the running for three awards.

The Egremont academy's assistant site manager Ken Brown appears in the shortlist for best support staff while Eli Hughes is in the best student category.

West Lakes Academy - judged to be outstanding by education regulator in the summer term - also appears in the shortlist for the prestigious best secondary school category.

Furness Academy also appears three times in the categories of best employee development programme, best marketing campaign and best secondary school.

Ulverston Victoria High School - the current holder of the best secondary school title - has three finalists too.

Geography teacher Tom Reader makes it to the shortlist of the best education profession newcomer category while Richard Butler, director of community involvement and head of performing arts, is in the best teaching professional section.

Staff in its engagement centre are in the running for the inclusion award.

In north Cumbria, Trinity School in Carlisle is celebrating two valued staff members making the shortlist.

They are senior pastoral tutor Tracy Studholme, who is in the running for best support staff, and PE curriculum leader Norman Foster, who taught at there for 38 years before his retirement in July.

 Golden Apple Awards 2017

Golden Apple Awards 2017

More than 200 guests will be invited to the Golden Apple Awards, which are sponsored by University of Cumbria and Inspira.

The 2017 Golden Apple Awards are brought to you by CN Group, which publishes a range of titles including The Cumberland News, News & Star, Times & Star, The Whitehaven News, and The Mail.

There are 20 categories to reflect and recognise excellence and achievement in a range of education, training and skills areas.

Finalists of the 2017 Golden Apple Awards

Early Years - Abacus Children's Day Nursery, Dalston; Muddy Boots Nursery, Newton Rigg, Penrith; Kathryn Young and Michelle Scott-McCullough, North Walney Primary School, Barrow.

Primary School - Arlecdon and Thornhill Primary Schools; Silloth Primary School; Seaton CE Junior School, Seaton, Workington.

Secondary School - Furness Academy, Barrow; Richard Rose Central Academy, Carlisle; West Lakes Academy, Egremont.

Further Education Provider - Carlisle College, Carlisle; Newton Rigg College, Penrith; Furness College, Barrow.

Learning, Development, Training Provider - Cumbria Learning & Improvement Collaborative, CCG; HIT Training, Penrith; The Outward Bound Trust, Penrith.

Support Staff - Jackie Craik, Newtown Community Primary School, Carlisle; Tracy Studholme, Trinity School, Carlisle; Ken Brown, West Lakes Academy, Egremont.

Teaching Assistant - Shannon Atkinson, Derwent Vale Primary School, Great Clifton; Siobhan McGrady, Mayfield School, Whitehaven.

Education Profession Newcomer - Helen Condron, Mayfield School, Whitehaven; Jordan Gale, Fairfield Primary School, Cockermouth; Tom Reader, Ulverston Victoria High School, Ulverston.

Teaching Professional - Richard Butler, Ulverston Victoria High School, Ulverston; Jess Corless, Ormsgill Nursery and Primary School; Barrow; Norman Foster, Trinity School, Carlisle.

Education and Learning Leader - Wendy Figes, Arlecdon and Thornhill Primary Schools; Rachel Ingrams, Silloth Primary School, Silloth; Margaret Taylor, High Hesket CE Primary School; High Hesket.

Student - Eli Hughes, West Lakes Academy, Egremont; Lauren Robson, Carlisle College; Georgia Taylor, Energy Coast UTC, Lillyhall.

Apprentice - Joe Hambley, Glaxosmithkline, Ulverston; Brandon Hartley, Iggesund Paperboard, Workington; Georgia Irving, Iggesund Paperboard, Workington.

Community Initiative - Cumbria Constabulary, Penrith; Brathay Apprentice Team, Glaxosmithkline, Ulverston; Lorraine Irving, Skills 4 U, Cleator Moor.

Inclusion - James Gartland, Ennerdale & Kinniside CE School; Catherine Garton, Kirby Moor School, Brampton; Engagement Centre, Ulverston Victoria High School.

Use of Technology - Hannah Croskery, Dalton St Mary's CE Primary, Dalton-in-Furness; Gavin Hamilton and class 5 team, James Rennie School, Carlisle; North Lakes School, Penrith.

Employee Development Programme - Dr Stephen Singleton, Cumbria Learning and Improvement Collaborative, NHS; Kath Walker, Energus, Lillyhall; Furness Academy, Barrow.

Marketing Campaign - Energy Coast UTC, Lillyhall; Furness Academy, Barrow; Hunter Hall School, Penrith.

Industry Engagement Initiative - apprenticeship recruitment team, Carlisle College; Morgan Sindall Bridge Project, Energy Coast UTC, Lillyhall; nucleargraduates, Energus, Lillyhall.

Against All Odds - to be announced on October 6.

Lifetime Achievement - Emmy Sealey, Ravenscar Nursery and Holme Head House, Carlisle.

Comment on this article

Generate a new code
Comments not OK? Click here to let us know