Continue We want you to get the most out of using this website, which is why we and our partners use cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to receive these cookies. You can find out more about how we use cookies here.

Tuesday, 07 July 2015

Subscriptions  |  evouchers  |  Jobs  |  Property  |  Motors  |  Travel  |  Dating  |  Family Notices

Three titles go down to last Sunday in Workington

A MASSIVE weekend of Sunday League football in Workington saw all three leagues decided.

sunsoc 2205
TOP SCORER: Captain Nelson’s Gary Pearson on the ball in the division two title decider against Salterbeck. Pearson is the division’s top scorer with 27 goals this season

Red Lion’s thumping 4-1 win over long-time leaders Northside saw them take the premier division crown on the last day of the season.

Richard Hudson netted a brace with Kenneth Bowes and Andrew Wilson also scoring to secure the title with Kyle Galea scoring a consolation for Northside.

It means Red Lion have done the double now adding the league success to the President’s Cup.

It was only Northside’s second defeat of the season and they lost out on top spot by just a single point.

It was even closer in division one with William Hill winning the title thanks to a significant goal difference over Senhouse Street.

William Hill needed to beat FC32, who also harboured hopes of taking the title, and they did just that with a convincing 4-1 win.

Keith Anderson netted twice, Mark Hine got the third and an own goal by Greg Quayle secured top spot. Scott Pears replied for FC32.

William Hill won the league with their superior goal difference of 19, and did so even with a three-point deduction.

Anderson’s two goals also gave him the golden boot. Before the match he was joint top of the scoring charts with Grasslot’s Martin Sewell but his brace meant he took the crown for himself.

The top two in division two also met on Sunday with a win for either Captain Nelson or Salterbeck guaranteeing top spot.

Captain Nelson were already a point above Salterbeck and an emphatic 5-1 win saw them ease to the title.

The league’s top scorer Gary Pearson, who finished the season with 27 goals from 14 games, was again among the goals.

He and Dean Scholey both scored twice with Adam Johnson firing in the fifth. Graeme Cowen’s solitary strike was all Salterbeck could manage.

Captain Nelson have been prolific in front of goal this season, scoring a mammoth 106 goals in their 14 league fixtures. Defensively they are solid too with just 18 goals being conceded.

It has been a good year for them too, reaching both the President’s Cup final and winning the League Cup.


Hot jobs
Search for:


Would you consider cancelling your holiday abroad following the events in Tunisia?



Show Result