PROPOSALS to change the constituency boundaries for Cumbria have been revealed - and it could have some big implications.

Under the changes, the county would have six MPs - but Westmorland and Lonsdale would be replaced by Morecambe and South Lakeland, incorporating parts of Lancashire, while Penrith and the Border would be replaced by Westmorland and Eden.

In addition, Windermere and Coniston would become part of Copeland and the Western Lakes. Dalston and Brugh-by-Sands would become part of the Workington constituency, which would extend to the boundaries of Carlisle.

A map of the changes can be viewed here.

The changes have been proposed by the Boundary Commission for England, an indepedent and impartial non‑departmental public body. The group peridically review the boundaries of all Parliamentary constituencies in England, and are currently conducting a review on the basis of legislative rules updated by Parliament in 2020.

The new rules that require every recommended constituency must have an electorate that is no smaller than 69,724 and no larger than 77,062.

The final recommendations will not be made until 2023.

From today, an eight-week consultation with the public will be carried out giving residents the opportunity to have their say. The consultation can be filled out here.