It has been a busy festive season for members of West Cumberland Orienteering Club starting with a fast and furious urban sprint event around the streets of


Over 70 people took part and on the 4.9km long course, Matt Vokes was fastest, finishing in 30:56 minutes;, ahead of Joe Sunley and Alastair Thomas Niamh Hunter was first lady in 11th.

On the 2.67km short course Zac Hudd flew round in 16 minutes, with Wilf Teasdale second and Lily Regan first lady in third. Noah Roberts won the novice course, ahead of Tom Hope and Jonty Razzetti.

The next event was a score event with a difference at Powter How woods adjacent to Bassenthwaite Lake.

On the long course Steve Birkinshaw won, with Alastair Thomas only seconds behind and Zac Hudd third. First lady was Niamh Hunter in ninth. Daisy Rennie took the win on the novice course, from Ash Boothroyd and David and Fred Rennie.

On New Years Day the annual event took place at Mawbray. First to complete the long course, collecting 28 controls was Joe Hudd in an impressive time of 39:16 minutes. Ben Breeze was second and Zac Hudd third. Niamh Hunter was first lady in eighth.

Joe Sunley took the win on the short course (14 controls) in 22:12 minutes; just ahead of Pete Hudd and Herbie Ashworth. Clare Rodger had a strong run to finish as first lady in fifth.

The final festive event took place at Ling Fell near Wythop, with runners having the choice of running in daylight or the dark.

On the 4.6km long course the daylight winner was Daniel Spencer in 30:05 minutes from Alastair Thomas and Phil Winskill. Helen Winskill was first lady in seventh. In the dark, the winner was Mike Harrison in 37:24 minutes, with Simon Hunter less than a minute behind and Steve Birkinshaw third. The consistent Niamh Hunter was again first lady in fifth.

On the short 2.72km course, Pete Hudd took an emphatic win in the daylight in a winning time of 22:43 minutes from Mark Skidmore and young junior Daisy Rennie. In the dark, Louis Morris had a strong run to take the win in 24:59; with Wilf Teasdale second, ahead of dad, Ian Teasdale. Clare Rodger was first lady in seventh.

The win on the daytime, nighthawk course went to Billy Robinson in a fast time of 23:02 minutes; with young juniors, Hiroki Holmes second and Sophie Crawford third. In the dark Caitlin Pearson won in 24:53 ahead of Alex Crawford and Emma Crawford.

On the novice course, in daylight, Matthew Skidmore took the win from Hiroki Holmes and Beth Skidmore. In the dark Ruth Walker took the win, from Sophie Crawford and Eve Walker.

Last weekend saw the annual club social and awards. The most improved female award went to Helen Rennie, whilst Jon Eaton was the most improved male. The best performing female juniors were Niamh Hunter and Daisy Rennie and best performing male juniors were Alastair Thomas and Daniel Spencer. The Pete Bland trophy for outstanding contribution to the club was awarded jointly to former chairman, Graham Watson and Mike Harrison.

Then the annual Club Chase took place at Scale Hill next to Crummock Water. First to make it back and therefore overall winner was new club member Nick Evans. First back on the different courses were Sam Stead (brown); Graham Watson (blue); Caitlin Irving (green); Isaac Hunter (light green); George Rennie (orange) and Sophie Crawford (yellow).