The 2019 competition season is under way at Cockermouth Golf Club and over 100 players turned out to support Cockermouth mayor David Malloy who hosted his Charity Texas Scramble.

The winning team were D Irving, P Barwise and R Lennoxburgh of Whitehaven GC with a score of 59 net. In second were P Smith, S Richardson and D Coombe of Workington GC with 59.7. Ron Smith, John Moyes and Wilf Cowan took third with 61.7.

Fourth was D Campbell, P Taylor and J Jackson with 61.8 and Ged Quinn, Alan Stables and Paul Maher took fifth on countback with 62.7. Martin Laidlow had the longest drive, Annette Milburn was nearest the line, Russell Skillen was nearest the pin on the ninth and Mike Reid on the 17th.

On Sunday the Fusiliers Trophy was won by David Bragg with a fine score of 72-6-66. Runner-up was Russell Skillen with 85-18-67.

The ladies played in the RNLI Charity competition. The winner was junior Rachel Casson with net 71. Rachel also won the Lady Captain’s Winter prize and red-uced her handicap by three shots.