Former champion Alan McManus provided the finishing touch to a superb Window Outlet Cockermouth & District Snooker League 2018/19 season with a classy display in front of a packed Flimby Social crowd.

The 1994 Masters Champion played eight frames against various league winners and produced some brilliant snooker along the way.

Making a break of 50-plus in nearly every frame, the Scot showed he can still produce snooker to the highest standard as he went unbeaten over the course of the eight-frame exhibition.

The entertainment then continued as McManus took on presentation night attendees in a series of black-ball challenges. The former world number six met the best part of 30 challengers. Winning a large percentage of these challenges the TV snooker pundit also endeared himself to the crowd with his Scottish banter.

The 47-year-old Glaswegian then presented the season’s trophies pausing for photo’s not only for the winners but with anyone who he was approached by.

League chairman and MC for the evening Kevin Basnett said: “Alan was a true gentleman. He made time for absolutely everyone.” Basnett added, “The league has been running these evenings for over 10 years now and every guest has said what a beautiful place Cumbria is and they can’t wait to return, Alan was no different”.

Six months in the planning the presentation evening didn’t come together without the help of some important people namely Geoff Banton of Flimby Social, league treasurer Dave Chapman and league secretary Andrew Mitchelhill were all thanked for their part in organising the event.

Thanks also went to league sponsors – Graeme Pritt & Ann-Marie of The Window Outlet, Workington – and the website sponsors – Breakaway Snooker and Pool Services.

Basnett said “I’m delighted everybody thoroughly enjoyed the evening but I cannot thank Alan, Graeme and Ann-Marie, Davey and Geoff enough for their help in making this night possible.”

18/19 Season Winners/Runners-up

KO Competitions

Performance Of Season – Paul Alford. 7’s H’cap KO Plate Runners Up – Station Road A. 7’s H’cap KO Plate Winners – Workington Golf Club. Trebles H’cap Runners Up – Shaun Ayre/Simon Frazer/Tony Elliott. Trebles H’cap Winners – Ian Fulton/ Andrew Wells/ Stephen Jackson. Singles H’cap Runner Up – Richard Kirkham. Singles H’cap Winner – Kevin Basnett. 7’s H’cap KO Runners Up – W’ton Vets Club. 7’s H’cap KO Winners (Eric McMullen Memorial Trophy) – W’ton Cons.

Division Two

Wooden spoon – W’ton Legion. High Break – Ryan Ismay (43). High Break Aggregate – Ryan Ismay (43). Leading Player – Ryan Ismay (P18 W17). Runners Up – M’port Social Club. Champions – Station Road A. Top 4 Runners Up – United Club. Top 4 Winners – Station Road A.

Division One

High Break – Peter O’Hagan (63). High Break Aggregate –Kevin Basnett (412). Leading Player – Kevin Basnett (P14 W12). Runners Up – W’ton Golf Club. Champions – Station Road B. Top 4 Runners Up – W’ton Cons Club. Top 4 Winners – Station Road B.