Maryport's own Paralympian and Commonwealth Games medalist Simon Lawson was guest speaker at this year's Netherhall School awards evening this week.

Mr Lawson, 41, was a junior speedway champion when an accident in 2001 left him paralysed from the waist down.

He then turned to wheelchair racing and has held and broken British records and won numerous medals in marathons across the world.

Students who won awards for outstanding achievement were: 

Year seven prize - Brianne Parry
Transition and participation - McKenzie Mullen
Individual achievement - Maisie Carruthers
Most improved student - Aiden Irving
Outstanding achievement - Aoife Smith
General excellence - Ella Craggs

Year eight
Individual achievement - Isaac Ingriselli
Most improved student - Miya Goodwin
Year eight prize - Anaisa Haycock
General excellence - Rebecca Wilson

Year nine
Outstanding achievement - Rileigh Sutton
Most improved student - Lacey Bethwaite
Outstanding achievement - Lucas Beswick
General excellence - Olivia Ireland
Year nine prize - Ethan Graham

Year 10 prize - Kadie Harrison
Individual achievement - Joe Hoyles
Most improved student -  Kacey Musgrave
Outstanding achievement - Daniel Brown
General excellence - Rhys Kirkbride