VC Cumbria honoured its best riders at the cycling club’s prize presentation with Velo Club Cumbria prize presentation, with recognition of what are most of the fastest riders in county.

2006 was Eaglesfield-based Brian Payton’s year to be crowned club champion winning the championship plaque with an average speed of 26.06mph, the President’s Cup for 50 miles in a time of 1.56.31, the 100-mile Cliff Sandham Century Cup in 4.29.52 and the Derwent Valley Cup.

Peter Brear, Carlisle, won the Volvo Bus Trophy for fastest 25 in 54.16, and was road race champion taking the Armstrong Cup.

Rob Hargreaves, Brigham, won the Kitto Shield for the fastest 10-mile time trial in 20.47 and was third in the 25-mile championship with an average speed of 26.06mph.

Alan Roper, Distington, was second in the 50-mile championship in a time of 2.05.07.

Mark Amor, Whitehaven, was in first place in the 10-mile championship with 21.16, second in the 25-mile with an average speed of 26.15mph and was third in the hill climb championship.

Adam Powe, Egremont, was hill climb champion, second in the club championship, second in the 30-mile championship, second in the 100 and third in the 50-mile.

Mark Wells, Whitehaven, won the most improved rider taking the Royal Tiger Shield, the veterans championship, third in the 100-mile TT, third in the 50 and third in the overall club championship. His average speed was 23.75mph.

Alice Crook, Keswick, won the Rose Bowl for ladies 10-mile championship. Ken Hargreaves, Eaglesfield, was best on STD in the 10 and 25-mile events and won the Sandham Cup and the P J Donnelly Cup.

Keith Ashbridge, Seaton, was the winner of the John Hale Hill Climb Cup.