Ben Stokes is one of four England players named in the International Cricket Council One-Day International Team of the Year.

Cumbrian Stokes is picked alongside Jonny Bairstow and Joe Root, while Jos Buttler - who will play with Stokes for Rajasthan Royals again in this year’s Indian Premier League - makes up the quartet.

They start their Test series against West Indies today.

Elsewhere, India captain Virat Kohli became the first man to claim the top three prizes at the ICC Awards after a remarkable 2018.

He lifted the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the ICC Cricketer of the Year and was also named the Men’s Test and ODI Player of the Year.

The 30-year-old scored 1,322 runs, including five centuries, at an average of 55.08 in 13 Tests and 1,202 runs in One-Day Internationals.

“It feels amazing. It’s a reward for all the hard work that you do throughout the calendar year,” said Kohli.

“I feel really grateful and very, very happy with the team doing well and, at the same time, myself performing.”

Aaron Finch’s world-record 172-run T20 score against Zimbabwe has won him the Performance of the Year award for the second time.

Meanwhile, Rishabh Pant was named Emerging Player of the Year, Scotland’s Calum MacLeod claimed the award for Associate Player of the Year, Kane Williamson claimed the Spirit of Cricket gong, and Kumar Dharmasena was voted Umpire of the Year.