PLAYERS and staff came together last weekend at Workington Town’s annual presentation evening, after a season of ‘real promise’ for the club.

At the event held on Saturday, October 7 players, staff and fans were recognised for their achievements over the last League One season.

Director Graeme Peers said: “We brought the 2023 season to a close with a fantastic presentation evening in the Gus Risman Lounge at the Fibrus Community Stadium. Firstly, we would like to thank the staff who put so much effort in to get the room ready and run a first class event of high standard.

“We would like to thank all our main sponsors, Supporters groups and the general fanbase for their support in 2023. Without you the club would not have recovered from the difficulties we had in 2022.

“At the start of the season we aimed for and achieved a play-off place and the squad showed moments of real promise and we would like to thank all the coaching and playing staff for their professionalism and efforts throughout the season.

“There has obviously been some standout players and we congratulate all the winners from the evening.

“As we look back over the season for the club we have been delighted with the progress made with the Workington Town Ladies team, thoroughly enjoyed hosting the Workington Reds Ladies FC and more news is on the horizon to continue promoting female sport and Community sport.

“For the Town Ladies we are looking to place them in the Women's Super League North division and continue to grow the game in the area.

“For the mens, we now need to progress again from the firm foundations of 2023 and push hard to gain promotion into the Championship.

“The club is on a solid footing and we look forward to the Challenge that 2024 brings and we will need all our stakeholders to maintain their support so we can get Workington Town RLFC back towards where they belong.”

Here are the winners :

• Directors volunteer of the year - Wayne Scholey and Malcolm Hill.

• Coaching teams’ person or persons of the year - The entire volunteer workforce.

• Newsquest Times and Star readers player of the year - Ciaran Walker.

• Derwent Park Supporters Club player of the year - Jordan Burns.

• Travellers Rest Supporters Club player of the year - Jake Bradley.

• Workington Town Supporters Club player of the year in memory of George Petre - Blain Marwood.

• Brian Ritson memorial award for most influential Townie - Scott Graham.

• Try of the season - Carl Forber v Doncaster at home.

• Top try scorer - Sean Sabutey 17 tries in all competitions.

• Top points scorer and golden boot winner - Ciaran Walker - 221 points, 86 goals, 12 tries, 1 drop goal.

• Players Young player of the year - Ciaran Walker.

• Players player of the year - Jordan Burns.